Make-up and Money

In the make-up community of social media there is a lot of glamour. A lot of people seeming to live fabulous lives with oodles and boodles of money to dispose of however they want to.

If you don’t have a huge stash of make-up, you obviously aren’t very good at what you do.

hqdefault
Make-up YouTube guru Shaaanxo has a personalized storage ROOM for her make-up and vanity. This is just ONE of her many drawers of lipstick. This was made just for her and a video on it can be found on her channel.

Now, I by no means am trying to say that this is bad. If I could afford that much make-up, I sure as hell would own that much.

To give you some perspective, on a small bookshelf from Target my make-up takes up less than the top shelf. (I like to arrange it pretty so it sits on more than that.) That less than a shelf is worth about $700, and each of those lip sticks is about $10 – $20, and she has 2 and a half drawers like that.

I’m jealous, oh yes I am, but in social media unless you are perceived to have make-up in this crazy amount you aren’t successful. This can go a number of ways, always wearing new products or pictures of a lot of make up. Which is really hard to do if you are just starting out or you have a lot of other expenses.

Make-up racks up a total faster than a lot of people think.

blush-chanel-cosmetics-mac-Favim.com-1965864
This picture right here is worth almost $200.

As a young mom I just don’t have that kind of money to burn. If my life had gone differently, namely I hadn’t met the love of my life and I hadn’t given birth to the best person in the whole world I would have a lot more money for make-up. But I don’t, and that’s okay.

maxresdefault
This bottom left drawer might look like a lot that you can get at Target, but there are also some high price items thrown in, that drawer alone is worth anywhere from $600 – $1,000. The bottom right is worth even more.
tumblr_mo9jptxj3x1s0htq2o1_500
Each of those MAC blushes costs $22. Plus I see palettes and NARS on the side. NARS is pricey stuff, worth it, but a small contour and highlight will run you $50.

When you start thinking in numbers make-up bloggers spend crazy amounts of cash on their products. Again, that’s completely fine. But when you are unastablished and only have one source of income, this seems impossible to aspire to.

I recently read this long-reads on word press: YouTube Middle Class about how YouTubers are often struggling to make ends meet. There are people like Pewdiepie, who is worth about $12 million and channels like Good Mythical Morning who manage to get sponsored episodes and events and pay themselves as well as another handful of people that work on their team.

And I can’t help but think about how there must be a lot of similar situations for make-up artists. There are those who are doing amazingly, those who can’t get a foothold at all, and those who are stuck between a rock and a hard place. You need to buy more make-up to make your fans happy, but you need more money to be able to buy more make-up.

This is one reason that I will never be famous, not only am I still learning (but really, isn’t everyone?) I will never be able to fork up the dough to make it big. I can’t pretend that my life is glamorous. It just isn’t.

6c577e1498c82430fa8d26e94509e8d8

I clean poop off of a small baby’s butt while she insists that it is time to roll over and crawl around. I got to take a bath with her and when I remove the diaper she has pooped and I have to just hold her over the tub and do her dirty diaper.

My husband can’t always get up by himself because of his fibromyalgia. Sometimes I need to help with his shoes or pants because his arthritis is so bad he can’t clench his hand.

My daughter burps and farts like a trucker and would prefer to be naked indefinitely.

I can’t afford the money or time to have a beautiful breakfast and smoothie every day, or a beautiful and intricate dinner.

IMG_20151206_190357

My wee make-up collection will likely never be brawny enough to play in the big league, but that’s okay. Not everyone can be famous, and not everyone can be rich.

But I’m still going to try hard and hope that I can get somewhere, anywhere. I love writing, I love make-up and I want to keep sharing. My make-up brings me joy, and I hope that other people just want to see that. Not hundreds of dollars, but make-up making people feel good.

I think that there is a lot of space for make-up on a real budget. Because so many videos use hundreds of dollars of product, and they’re so beautiful, but in the next few weeks I want to do a lot about what to splurg on and what is the best product to save money on.

Leave a Reply

